Fortune tellers

Life can be so lonely sometimes. as a kid I watched

my mother tie up her hair in pin curls and clips and I remember

how stunning I thought she looked despite the lines

on her thick skin that marked a false,

lying 

grin.

She tells me I look just like her, and I am both full of 

relief and regret. I’m still not sure how we have created

a cyclical generation of our own heartache, but I am so high and

I have never felt more 

alive. 

“If you can be slow

and easy, 

I think you can make it.”

Leave a Reply

